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CHAPTER 9
CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES

Rule 9.1 Guidelines adopted. The supreme court has undertaken to prescribe uniform child support
guidelines and criteria pursuant to the federal Family Support Act of 1988, Pub. L. No. 100-485
and Iowa Code section 598.21B. The child support guidelines contained in this chapter are hereby
adopted, effective July 1, 2013. The guidelines shall apply to cases pending July 1, 2013.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rule 9.2 Applicability. These guidelines are established for use by the courts of this state in
determining the amount of child support. The guidelines are applicable to modification of child
support orders as provided in Iowa Code section 598.21C(2).
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009]

Rule 9.3 Purpose.
9.3(1) Purpose. The purpose of the guidelines is to provide for the best interests of the children

by recognizing the duty of both parents to provide adequate support for their children in proportion to
their respective incomes. While the guidelines cannot take into account the specific facts of individual
cases, they will normally provide reasonable support.
9.3(2) Low-income adjustment. The basic support obligation amounts have been adjusted in the

shaded area of the schedule for low-income obligated (noncustodial) parents. The objective of the
adjustment is to strike a balance between adequately supporting the obligated parent’s children and
allowing the obligated parent to live at least at a subsistence level. The adjustment is based on
the following: (1) requiring a support order no matter how little the obligated parent’s income is,
(2) increasing the support amount for more children, (3) maintaining an incentive to work for the
obligated parent, and (4) gradually phasing out the adjustment with increased income.
a. In accordance with this objective, except as provided in (b), only the obligated parent’s adjusted

net income is used for incomes less than $1,151.00 in Area A of the shaded area of the schedule. When
the obligated parent’s adjusted net income is $1,151.00 or more but is in Area B of the shaded area
of the schedule, the guideline amount of support is the lesser of the support calculated using only
the obligated parent’s adjusted net income as compared to the support calculated using the combined
adjusted net incomes of both parents. The combined adjusted net incomes of both parents are used in
the remaining (nonshaded) Area C of the schedule.
b. In cases of joint (equally shared) physical care, the low-income adjustment is not applicable,

and the parents’ combined adjusted net incomes as shown in the shaded area of the schedule are used.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9,
2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rule 9.4 Guidelines — rebuttable presumption. In ordering child support, the court should
determine the amount of support specified by the guidelines. There shall be a rebuttable presumption
that the amount of child support which would result from the application of the guidelines prescribed
by the supreme court is the correct amount of child support to be awarded. That amount may be
adjusted upward or downward, however, if the court finds such adjustment necessary to provide for
the needs of the children or to do justice between the parties under the special circumstances of the
case. The appropriate amount of child support is zero if the noncustodial parent’s only income is
from Supplemental Security Income (SSI) paid pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 1381a.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009]

Rule 9.5 Net monthly income. In the guidelines the term “net monthly income” means gross
monthly income less deductions for the following:
9.5(1) Federal income tax (calculated pursuant to the guideline method).
9.5(2) State income tax (calculated pursuant to the guideline method).
9.5(3) Social Security and Medicare tax deductions, or for those employees who do not contribute

to Social Security, mandatory pension deductions not to exceed the current Social Security and
Medicare tax rate for employees.
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9.5(4) Mandatory occupational license fees if paid by the individual personally, not by the
employer, and if not previously deducted as a business expense on the individual’s tax return in
arriving at the individual’s self-employment or other business income.
9.5(5) Union dues.
9.5(6) Actual medical support paid pursuant to court order or administrative order in another order

for other children, not the pending matter.
9.5(7) Cash medical support ordered in this pending matter as determined by the medical support

table in rule 9.12.
9.5(8) Prior obligation of child support and spouse support actually paid pursuant to court or

administrative order.
9.5(9) Qualified additional dependent deductions.
9.5(10) Actual child care expense while custodial parent is employed, less the appropriate income

tax credit.
Other items, such as credit union payments, charitable deductions, savings or thrift plans, and

voluntary pension plans, are not to be deducted from a parent’s income, since the needs of the children
must have a higher priority than voluntary savings or payment of indebtedness.
Gross monthly income does not include public assistance payments or the earned income tax credit.

To determine gross income, the court shall not impute income under rule 9.11 except:
a. Pursuant to agreement of the parties, or
b. Upon request of a party, and a written determination is made by the court under rule 9.11.

[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rule 9.6 Guideline method for computing taxes. For purposes of computing the taxes to be
deducted from a parent’s gross income, the following uniform rules shall be used:
9.6(1) An unmarried parent shall be assigned either single or head of household filing status. Head

of household filing status shall be assigned if a parent is the custodial parent of one or more of the
mutual children of the parents.
9.6(2) A married parent shall be assigned married filing separate status.
9.6(3) If the parents have joint (equally shared) physical care of their mutual children, an

unmarried parent shall be assigned head of household filing status and a married parent shall be
assigned married filing separate status.
9.6(4) The standard deduction applicable to the parent’s filing status under rule 9.6(1), 9.6(2) or

9.6(3) shall be used.
9.6(5) Each parent shall be assigned one personal exemption for the parent. The custodial parent

shall be assigned one additional dependent exemption for each mutual child of the parents, unless a
parent provides information that the noncustodial parent has been allocated the dependent exemption
for such child. In cases of joint (equally shared) or split physical care, the dependent exemption(s)
for the mutual child(ren) of the parties shall be assigned according to the order or decree establishing
the joint or split care arrangement.
If the amount of federal and/or state income tax actually paid by the parent differs substantially

from the amount(s) determined by the guideline method of computing taxes, the court may consider
whether the difference is sufficient reason to adjust the child support under the criteria in rule 9.11.
This rule does not preclude alternate methods of computation by the Child Support Recovery Unit as
authorized by Iowa Code section 252B.7A.
[Court Order September 23, 2004, effective November 1, 2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May
9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rule 9.7 Qualified additional dependent deduction. To establish a qualified additional dependent
deduction, the requesting parent must demonstrate a legal obligation to the child(ren) under Iowa
Code section 252A.3. Ways to demonstrate a legal obligation to the child(ren) include:
9.7(1) By order of a court of competent jurisdiction or by administrative order when authorized

by state law.
9.7(2) By the statement of the person admitting paternity in court and upon concurrence of the

mother. If the mother was married, at the time of conception, birth, or at any time during the period
between conception and birth of the child, to an individual other than the person admitting paternity,
the individual to whom the mother was married at the time of conception, birth, or at any time during
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the period between conception and birth, must deny paternity in order to establish the paternity of the
person admitting paternity upon the sole basis of the admission.
9.7(3) By the filing and registration by the state registrar of an affidavit of paternity executed on or

after July 1, 1993, as provided in Iowa Code section 252A.3A, provided that the mother of the child
was unmarried at the time of conception, birth, and at any time during the period between conception
and birth of the child, or if the mother was married at the time of conception, birth, or at any time
during the period between conception and birth of the child, a court of competent jurisdiction has
determined that the individual to whom the mother was married at the time is not the father of the
child.
9.7(4) By a child born during the marriage unless the paternity has been determined otherwise by

a court of competent jurisdiction.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rule 9.8 Deduction amount and use.
9.8(1) The monthly deduction for qualified additional dependents of a parent (custodial or

noncustodial) shall be:
a. 8% of the parent’s gross monthly income (to a maximum of $800 per month) for one (1) child.
b. 12% of the parent’s gross monthly income (to a maximum of $1200 per month) for two (2)

children.
c. 14% of the parent’s gross monthly income (to a maximum of $1400 per month) for three (3)

children.
d. 15% of the parent’s gross monthly income (to a maximum of $1500 per month) for four (4)

children.
e. 16% of the parent’s gross monthly income (to a maximum of $1600 per month) for five (5) or

more children.
9.8(2) The qualified additional dependent deduction can be used for the establishment of original

orders or in proceedings to modify an existing order. However, the deduction cannot be used to affect
the threshold determination of eligibility for a downward modification of an existing order. After
the threshold determination has been met, the deduction shall be used in the determination of the
net monthly income. A deduction may be taken for a prior obligation for support actually paid (rule
9.5(8)) or a qualified additional dependent deduction (rule 9.5(9)) but both deductions cannot be used
for the same child. A qualified additional dependent deduction cannot be claimed for a child for
whom there is a prior court or administrative support order.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009]

Rule 9.9 Extraordinary visitation credit. If the noncustodial parent’s court-ordered visitation
exceeds 127 days per year, the noncustodial parent shall receive a credit to the noncustodial parent’s
share of the basic support obligation in accordance with the following table:

Days Credit

128-147 15%
148-166 20%
167 or more but less than equally shared physical care 25%

For the purposes of this credit, “days” means overnights spent caring for the child(ren). Failure to
exercise court-ordered visitation may be a basis for modification. The extraordinary visitation credit
shall not reduce support below $30.00 for one child or below $50.00 for two or more children.
[Court Order September 23, 2004, effective November 1, 2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May
9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rule 9.10 Child support guidelines worksheet. All parties shall file a child support guidelines
worksheet prior to a support hearing or the establishment of a support order. The parties shall use
Form 1 that accompanies these rules, unless both parties agree to use Form 2. The Child Support
Recovery Unit (CSRU) shall use Form 2.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004]
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Rule 9.11 Variance from guidelines. The court shall not vary from the amount of child support that
would result from application of the guidelines without a written finding that the guidelines would be
unjust or inappropriate as determined under the following criteria:
9.11(1) Substantial injustice would result to the payor, payee, or child(ren).
9.11(2) Adjustments are necessary to provide for the needs of the child(ren) or to do justice

between the parties, payor, or payee under the special circumstances of the case. Adjustments may
also be made based on the parties’ child care expenses necessitated by employment or education.
9.11(3) Circumstances contemplated in Iowa Code section 234.39.
9.11(4) The court may impute income in appropriate cases subject to the requirements of rule

9.5. If the court finds that a parent is voluntarily unemployed or underemployed without just cause,
child support may be calculated based on a determination of earning capacity. A determination of
earning capacity may be made by determining employment potential and probable earnings level
based on work history, occupational qualifications, prevailing job opportunities, earning levels in the
community, and other relevant factors. The court shall not use earning capacity rather than actual
earnings or otherwise impute income unless a written determination is made that, if actual earnings
were used, substantial injustice would occur or adjustments would be necessary to provide for the
needs of the child(ren) or to do justice between the parties.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rule 9.12 Medical Support Order.
9.12(1) The court shall enter an order for medical support as required by statute. For purposes of

Iowa Code section 252E.1A, the table contained in rule 9.12(4) is established for use by the courts of
this state in determining reasonable cost for a health benefit plan and a reasonable amount in lieu of a
health benefit plan (cash medical support). The sum certain dollar amount determined shall be stated
in the order, as an amount in addition to the child support amount.
9.12(2) Refer to the table in rule 9.12(4) to determine if the parent has health insurance available

at “reasonable cost.” Find the appropriate cell for the parent’s net income (as determined by the
guidelines) and for the correct number of children. Multiply the parent’s gross income by the
percentage in that cell. If the amount is equal to or more than the cost of the child(ren)’s portion of
the health insurance premium (family cost minus single cost), it is available at “reasonable cost.” For
minimum orders in low-income Area A (NCPs with net incomes 0 – 1150), cash medical support is
not ordered.
9.12(3) If neither parent has health insurance available at “reasonable cost,” if appropriate

according to Iowa Code section 252E.1A, the court shall order cash medical support. Refer to the
table in rule 9.12(4) to determine the amount of cash medical support. Find the appropriate cell for
the parent’s preliminary net income (gross income minus all appropriate deductions other than cash
medical support in the pending matter) and for the correct number of children. Multiply the parent’s
gross income by the percentage in that cell to get the cash medical support amount. For minimum
orders in low-income Area A (NCPs with net incomes 0 – 1150), cash medical support is not ordered.
Cash medical support is also not ordered if a parent is ordered to provide health insurance and that
parent or stepparent of the child(ren) has obtained insurance coverage for the child(ren).
Use the adjusted net income (preliminary net income minus the amount of cash medical support in

the pending matter) for the correct number of children on the Schedule of Basic Support Obligations
to find the appropriate amount of child support. Once the adjusted net income has been determined,
do not allow another deduction for cash medical support.
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9.12(4) Medical Support Table.
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9.12(5) “Uncovered medical expenses” means all medical expenses for the child(ren) not paid by
insurance. In cases of joint physical care, the parents shall share all uncovered medical expenses in
proportion to their respective net incomes. In all other cases, including split or divided physical care,
the custodial parent shall pay the first $250 per year per child of uncovered medical expenses up to a
maximum of $800 per year for all children. Uncovered medical expenses in excess of $250 per child
or a maximum of $800 per year for all children shall be paid by the parents in proportion to their
respective net incomes. “Medical expenses” shall include, but not be limited to, costs for reasonably
necessary medical, orthodontia, dental treatment, physical therapy, eye care, including eye glasses or
contact lenses, mental health treatment, substance abuse treatment, prescription drugs, and any other
uncovered medical expense. Uncovered medical expenses are not to be deducted in arriving at net
income.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rule 9.13 Stipulation for child and medical support — court review. A stipulation of the
parties establishing child support and medical support shall be reviewed by the court to determine
if the amount stipulated and the medical support provisions are in substantial compliance with
the guidelines. A proposed order to incorporate the stipulation shall be reviewed by the court to
determine its compliance with these guidelines. If a variance from the guidelines is proposed, the
court must determine whether it is justified and appropriate, and, if so, include the stated reasons for
the variance in the order.
[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004]

Rule 9.14 Method of Computation. To compute the guideline amount of child support, first
compute the adjusted net monthly income, then proceed to either the Basic Method of Child Support
Computation grid or the Joint (Equally Shared) Physical Care Method of Child Support Computation
grid, as appropriate. For split or divided physical care, refer to rule 9.14(4). The following grids
illustrate how the worksheets are to be completed.
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9.14(1) The steps to arrive at the adjusted net monthly income are shown below in the adjusted
net monthly income computation grid.
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9.14(2) The steps of a basic child support computation are shown below in the Basic Method of
Child Support Computation grid.
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9.14(3) Joint physical care. In cases of court-ordered joint (equally shared) physical care, child
support shall be calculated as shown below in the Joint (Equally Shared) Physical Care Method of
Child Support Computation grid. Offset is a method of payment of each parent’s guideline amount of
child support and the net difference shall be paid by the party with the higher child support obligation
unless variance is warranted under rule 9.11. An allocation between the parties for payment of the
child(ren)’s expenses ordered pursuant to Iowa Code section 598.41(5)(a) is an obligation in addition
to the child support amount calculated pursuant to this rule and is not child support.
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9.14(4) Split or divided physical care. In the cases of court-ordered split or divided physical care,
child support shall be calculated in the following manner: determine the amount of child support
required by these guidelines for each party based on the number of children in the physical care of
the other party; offset the two amounts as a method of payment; and the net difference shall be paid
by the party with the higher child support obligation unless variance is warranted under rule 9.11.
9.14(5) Health insurance premium. In calculating child support, the health insurance premium for

the child(ren) is added to the basic support obligation and prorated between the parents as provided
in this rule.
a. This subrule shall apply if the parent is ordered to provide health insurance for the child(ren)

in the pending action and it is either deducted from wages of the parent or stepparent or paid by the
parent or stepparent.
b. The amount of the premium for the child(ren) to be added is the amount of the premium cost

for family coverage to the parent or stepparent which is in excess of the premium cost for single
coverage, regardless of the number of individuals covered under the policy.
c. However, a health insurance premium shall not be added or prorated if the basic support

obligation is in low-income (shaded) Area A of the schedule in rule 9.26 unless variance is warranted
under rule 9.11.
d. In cases of split or divided physical care, include only 50% of the health insurance premium in

each of the two calculations described in subrule 9.14(4).
e. If the child(ren) is (are) covered by the health insurance of a stepparent, the health insurance

premium for the child(ren) will be added to the basic support obligation and prorated between the
parents, unless a parent objects. If a parent objects, the court will decide the issue based on its
determination of whether it would be equitable to the parties and the child(ren).
[Court Order September 23, 2004, effective November 1, 2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May
9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]

Rules 9.15 to 9.25 Reserved.
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Rule 9.26 Child Support Guidelines Schedule.



May 2013 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES Ch 9, p.13



Ch 9, p.14 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES May 2013



May 2013 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES Ch 9, p.15



Ch 9, p.16 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES May 2013



May 2013 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES Ch 9, p.17



Ch 9, p.18 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES May 2013



May 2013 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES Ch 9, p.19



Ch 9, p.20 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES May 2013



May 2013 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES Ch 9, p.21



Ch 9, p.22 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES May 2013



May 2013 CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES Ch 9, p.23

[Court Order March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]
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Rule 9.27 Child Support Guidelines Worksheets.
Rule 9.27 — Form 1: Child Support Guidelines Worksheet.
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[Report November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1, 2004;
March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]
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Rule 9.27 — Form 2: Child Support Guidelines Worksheet.
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[Court Order November 9, 2001, effective February 15, 2002; September 23, 2004, effective November 1,
2004; March 9, 2009, effective July 1, 2009; May 9, 2013, effective July 1, 2013]


