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Dear Child Care Provider:

441 IAC 110.8(1) Facility Requirements

441 IAC 110.8(1)“ a” The home shall have a nonpay, working land-line or mobile telephone with emergency numbers 
posted for police, fire, ambulance, and the poison information center. The number for each 
child’s parent, for a responsible person who can be reached when the parent cannot, and for 
the child’s physician shall be written on paper and readily accessible by the telephone. The 
home must prominently display all emergency information, and all travel vehicles must have a 
paper copy of emergency parent contact information

441 IAC 110.8(1)“ f” A safety barrier shall surround any heating stove or heating element, in order to prevent burns.

441 IAC 110.9 Files

441 IAC 110.9(1) A provider file is maintained and shall contain the following:

441 IAC 110.9(1)“ a” A physician’s examination report for the provider and all members of the provider’s household 
aged 18 years or older. Acceptable physical examinations shall be documented on Form 470-
5152, Child Care Provider Physical Examination Report. All children residing in the household 
must have medical documentation outlined in 110.9(4) “d”, 110.9(4) “f”, and 110.9(4) “g”

441 IAC 110.9(1)“ b”(2) Documentation from the department confirming the record checks required under 441 IAC 
110.11(3) have been completed and authorizing or conditionally limiting the person’s 
involvement with child care.

441 IAC 110.9(2) An individual file is maintained for each staff assistant and contains:
1. Documentation from the department confirming the record checks required under subrule 

110.11(3) have been completed and authorizing or conditionally limiting the person’s 
involvement with child care

2. A completed Form 470-5152, Child Care Provider Physical Examination Report. The 
examination shall include any necessary testing for communicable diseases; a 
discussion of recommended vaccinations; completed no more than six months prior to 
approval to assist or be a household member; completed by a licensed medical doctor, 

This letter is in regards to the compliance visit at your Registered Child Development Home B conducted on 02/26/2020. 
Iowa Code Chapter 237A and 441 Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 110, describes specific requirements that must be 
met by a Registered Child Development Home. You are not a participant in the voluntary Quality Rating and 
Improvement System.  The following areas were out of compliance at the time of the visit:
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doctor of osteopathy, physician assistant or advanced registered nurse practitioner; and 
repeated at least every three years.

3. Certification of two hours of approved training related to identification and reporting of 
child abuse as required by Iowa Code section 232.69 within 3 months of employment.

441 IAC 110.9(3) An individual file is maintained for each substitute and contains:
1. Documentation from the department confirming the record checks required under 441 

IAC 110.9(1) “a” have been completed and authorizing or conditionally limiting the 
person’s involvement with child care.

2. A completed Form 470-5152, Child Care Provider Physical Examination Report. The 
examination shall include any necessary testing for communicable diseases; a 
discussion of recommended vaccinations; completed no more than six months prior to 
approval to assist or be a household member; completed by a licensed medical doctor, 
doctor of osteopathy, physician assistant or advanced registered nurse practitioner; and 
repeated at least every three years.

3. Certification of two hours of approved training related to identification and reporting of 
child abuse as required by Iowa Code section 232.69 within 3 months of employment.

4. Certification in infant and child first aid
5. Certification or other documentation that minimum health and safety training has been 

completed within 3 months or prior to providing substitute care, whichever occurs first.

441 IAC 110.9(4) Children’s Files. An individual file for each child shall be maintained and updated annually or 
when the provider becomes aware of changes. The file shall contain:

a. Identifying information including, at a minimum, the child’s name, birth date, parent’s 
name, address, telephone number, special needs of the child, and the parent’s work 
address and telephone number.
b. Emergency information including, at a minimum, where the parent can be reached, the 
name, street address, city and telephone number of the child’s regular source of health 
care, and the name, telephone number, and relationship to the child of another adult 
available in case of emergency.
c. A signed medical consent from the parent authorizing emergency treatment.
d. An admission physical examination report signed by a licensed physician or designee 
in a clinic supervised by a licensed physician

1. The date of the physical examination shall not be more than 12 months before 
the child’s first day of attendance at the child development home.
2. The written report shall include past health history, status of present health, 
allergies and restrictive conditions, and recommendations for continued care when 
necessary.
3. For a child who is five years of age or older and enrolled in school, a statement 
of health status signed by the parent or legal guardian may be substituted for the 
physical examination report.
4. The examination report or statement of health status shall be on file before the 
child’s first day of care

e. For children under the age of 6,a statement of health condition signed by a physician 
or designee submitted annually from the date of the admission physical. For a child who 
is enrolled in school, a statement of health status signed by the parent or legal guardian 
may be substituted for the physician statement.
f. For each school-age child, on the first day of attendance, documentation of a physical 
examination that was completed at the time of school enrollment or since.
g. A signed and dated immunization certificate provided by the state department of public 
health. For the school-age child, a copy of the most recent immunization record shall be 
acceptable.
h. For any child with allergies, a written emergency plan in the case of an allergic 
reaction. A copy of this information shall accompany the child if the child leaves the 
premises.
i. Documentation that is signed by the parent and names persons authorized to pick up 
the child. The authorization shall include the name, telephone number, and relationship 

1305 E. Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0114470-5431 (Rev. 8/17)



Iowa Department of Health And Human Services
Kim Reynolds
Governor

Adam Gregg
Lt. Governor

Kelly K. Garcia
Director

Findings:

Per the compliance visit completed on 2/26/20, the following corrections are necessary based on the above mentioned 
rules:

1.  Please make sure all phone numbers and emergency contacts are updated and a copy is also kept in any vehicle 
used to transport children.

2.  You have solved the barrier regarding the top of the stair case by blocking this area off with a large shelf that could 
not be moved by a child.  The stair banister does have large spaces that a child could access so you will need to create 
some sort of barrier such as a rail guard.  You can google rail guard and locate a product that may assist you.

3.  Please obtain a current physical for yourself on the required Child Care Provider Physical Examination Report form 
470-5152.  This form must be completed by a physician and kept on file for easy access.  Please renew the form every 
3 years for yourself and each household member over the age of 12. 

4. I attempted a random visit on 2/24/20 at 8:30 a.m. and was greeted by a school age daycare child and an unknown 
individual, you were not present in the home at this time.  We discussed this situation on 2/26/20 during a scheduled 
visit.  You reported that a family member was visiting from out of state and you had closed your daycare on this date 
due to house repairs that were occurring.  You stated you had notified all children's caretakers of this closure, however, 
one of the caretakers dropped their school age child off to catch the bus and your visitor allowed the child into the 
home.  In reviewing billing you submitted for child care assistance, you reported on 2/24/20 that 3 children were present 
in care at 8:30 a.m.  and 4 children were billed for at varying times.  I contacted you to discuss the billing and your 
reported the billing is an error and inquired how to resolve the issue.  Please contact Registration's Child Care 
Assistance Unit and report the error.  Registration can be reached at 1-866-448-4605.

5.  Approved assistant, Simone Bennett must have a current physical on the required Child Care Provider Physical 
Examination Report form 470-5152.  This form must be kept on file and easily accessible.  The form must be updated 
every 3 years.  Simone must also take a Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting Training course.  I recommend contacting 
Child Care Resource & Referral (CCR&R) as indicated below if you need assistance locating or signing up for classes.

6.  Approved substitute Nichole Onnen is also required to have a current physical on the required Child Care Provider 
Physical Examination Report form 470-5152.  This must be completed every 3 years and kept on file.  You indicated 
Nichole has not yet started helping.  She may assist you, but may not serve in a substitute (sole care taker role) until 
she has completed the required trainings including infant/child-CPR-First Aid, Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting 
Training, and Health & Safety Essentials.  Please contact CCR&R if you have questions regarding training needs.

7.  You reported being in the process of obtaining updated information for all daycare children's files.  Please be sure 
you have all the information listed above including enrollment/emergency contact information, pick up/drop off 
information, a signed emergency medical treatment authorization form for each child, a current physical, and current 
immunization record.  I do encourage providers to obtain this information at the time of enrollment.  It must be provided 
within 60 days of the request.  Please note, immunizations are required in addition to physicals and do not count as a 
physical document.  Any child that does not have timely paperwork on file may not return to care until documents have 
been received. 

of the authorized person to the child.
j. Written permission from the parent for the child to attend activities away from the child 
development home.k. Injury report forms documenting injuries requiring first aid or 
medical care
l. If the child meets the definition of homelessness as defined by section 725(2) of the 
McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Assistance Act, the family shall receive a 60-day 
grace period to obtain medical documentation.
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Suggestions/Recommendations:

Child Care Resource & Referral (CCR&R)
Consultant: MEGAN KERKMANN - 515-246-3583

Please do not hesitate to access the free and voluntary consulting services offered by CCR&R to assist with any 
compliance related needs or questions.

Corrective Action Required:

All corrections must be completed by 6/23/20.  A recheck may occur at anytime.  All corrections will be verified at the 
time of the next visit.  

Non-compliance with any of the mandated requirements listed above may lead to the cancellation or revocation of your 
Child Development Home Registration.  Please take whatever steps are necessary to completely address each of the 
violations noted above.  It is essential you correct all above-mentioned violations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at DHS at 515-219-0189/mcrawfo@dhs.state.ia.us if you have any questions 
regarding this letter.

Sincerely,

Melissa Crawford

Social Worker II

Jennifer Ware

Social Work Supervisor

Always Remember:

Child Care Resource and Referral is an excellent resource for providers to access training options and support in your 
area. You can reach Child Care Resource and Referral at 877-216-8481

As you plan your future trainings to meet your 24 hours of training requirement, please remember that you can access 
the approved training by going to http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/Consumers/Child_Care/Professional_Development.html

You may also access training at: https://ccmis.dhs.state.ia.us/trainingregistry/

All providers need to maintain compliance with rules set out in Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 110, which includes: 
441 IAC 110.5(1): Check with the appropriate authorities to determine how the following local, state, or federal laws 
apply to you: • Zoning code • Building code • Fire code • Business license • State and federal income tax • 
Unemployment insurance • Worker’s Compensation • Minimum wage and hour requirements • OSHA • Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). 
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